Alternative for drawInRect:withFont: in iOS7

In case someone was confused about the deprecated method “drawinRect:withFont:”, here’s the alternative:

And this is just another thing, but in the book, the code that precedes “drawinRect:withFont:” is “[[UIColor blackColor] setFill]]”, which pretty much does nothing, like someone else mentioned.
I don’t know if it is true, but I have a feeling that it might have changed to text color (and that’s the method that kept showing up on stackoverflow for changing text colors, which never worked for me) in the previous versions of Xcode.

So here’s the alternative for that also:

[text drawInRect:textRect withAttributes:@{NSFontAttributeName: font, NSForegroundColorAttributeName: [UIColor anyColor]}];

I’m new to the programming arena like many of you guys, so I’m not sure if that NSForegroundColorAttributeName is what is used to change the text color in the first place, or I’m using something wrong but as a side effect the text color is being changed. I only found out after trying different attributes… so someone who’s more experienced, please let me know if that is a legit code.

Thanks guys!

Thank you very much for posting this! I was messing up my head all day trying to figure out how to use the new iOS7 methods. I honestly tried for several hours searching the documentarys (thought it was a good Idea to get into reading those*) but didn’t find anything about {NSFontAttributeName: font}

Would you tell me how (if) you used the docs to find this?

*if I’m that bad at fixing such a small thing, I wonder what will happen if I ever encounter a real problem… :confused: :cry:

cu
Chris

The above expression looks like a short hand for creating a dictionary with a key (NSFontAttributeName) and a corresponding value (font). Probably a new construct introduced in the latest and greatest version of Objective-C.

Try reading the programming topics for collections.