ARC for Dummies

Hi guys,
Newbie here! I’m an old telecom programmer (at 36yo lol!), and I’m using your book to jumpstart my career back into the wonderful world of coding! And… I’m loving it!

So I’ve been reading the news and comments on the new ARC compiler code in v5. All I can say is, wow, there ya go. The game has changed. But how much has it changed? Where hasn’t it? Where do I go from here?

Here’s my request: Would you guys be willing to write a short, new ebook with “The new Dos and Don’ts for memory management in iphone 5” that specifically addresses new memory management practices. And perhaps even, an explaination of how the new ARC code works too? It’s mostly “new habits” that I’d like to learn from y’all - the kings of code. Otherwise, I’m sure I’ll pick up some nasty habits, or take some nasty falls trying to relearn the new v5 memory management practices.

Thanks for the great book. It is truly The Guide for me!

Since ARC changes a lot, we’ll be writing a 3rd edition of the book ASAP to address these changes.

In the interim, here is what you need to know:

ARC automatically inserts retain, release and autorelease in your code for you. Most of the time, ARC “just works.” Thus, you setting a variable to point at an object automatically retains that object. Setting a variable to another value if it already points to an object releases the object it previously pointed to.

As an example, setter methods typically look like this:

- (void)setString:(NSString *)str
{
     [str retain];
     [string release];
     string = str;
}

However, with ARC, setter methods look like this:

- (void)setString:(NSString *)str
{
     string = str;
}

And this is okay, old string is released automatically, new str is retained automatically.

Also, methods that return a pointer to an object will automatically autorelease that object:

- (NSString *)gimmeString
{
      return [[NSString alloc] initWithString:@"hey"];
}