Bronze Challenge - Can I get some help understanding this?

So towards the end of Chapter 4 we make our view controller a delegate, make it conform to a protocol, then run a method from the protocol.
We ended up preventing any input from the user that would cause there to be more than one decimal place in the text field.

The challenge wants us to prevent any non-numeric characters from being inputted via a bluetooth keyboard.
I studied the code and I got the nuts and bolts down, and I looked into NSCharactersetSet to help me take on the challenge, and I’m having trouble getting it off the ground (even though I have some idea of what I’d like to do)

Here is what I’m trying to do:

1. Create an instance of NSCharacterSet.
  1. Once the object is created, run letterCharacterSet() method on it.

I have some ideas of what to do once I’m able to run this function, but problem is I’m unable to use the function on the object. Xcode doesn’t list it as an available function to hasAlphabetCharacter.
I don’t think I am setting this whole thing up correctly, which is making me second guess my understanding of classes and creating instances of them. Am I overlooking something basic?

Sorry for double posting, but I think I figured it out. I was not creating an instance of the class with the code I was typing… Sorry group, I’m still new to programming in general, so it has been a struggle taking in all these things. :blush:

You can use String’s method:rangeofCharacterFromSet.

I found a solution that works but now I can’t delete previous characters with iOS keyboard or my own keyboard.

gist.github.com/BudaDude/93f3449a30aab5f9862a
(Using gist so no one gets spoiled for how to do it)

Could anyone give me an idea of what went wrong?

I added changes in the comments.

extension ConversionViewController : UITextFieldDelegate {
    func textField(textField: UITextField, shouldChangeCharactersInRange range: NSRange,
                   replacementString string: String) -> Bool {