cellForRowAtIndexPath Not Called

- (UITableViewCell *)tableView:(UITableView *)tableView cellForRowAtIndexPath:(NSIndexPath *)indexPath
is not being called.

- (NSInteger)numberOfSectionsInTableView:(UITableView *)tableView
is being called (and returns 5).

Here is my project on github: github.com/RhysLindmark/Homepwner

In addition to fixing my actual bug, I’d like to fix my process. When you fix my problem, can you tell me your process for fixing the bug so that I can use it in the future?

Thanks!

Looks like your BNRItemsViewController.m is missing the following (from page 170 of the book)

- (NSInteger) tableView:(UITableView *)tableView numberOfRowsInSection:(NSInteger)section { return [[[BNRItemStore sharedStore] allItems] count]; }

As for the process, I’m an aging developer :confused: but a noob with Objective-C and iOS. However, my understanding of the TableViewController is the following. When drawing a table the delegate is asked:

[ul]How many sections do I need - via numberOfSectionsInTableView:
How many rows in each section - via tableView: numberOfRowsInSection:
What data do I need in the cell - via tableView: cellForRowAtIndexPath: (called once for each row)[/ul]

The fact that the final method wasn’t called suggested the possibility that:

a) the wrong method had been implemented (which seems to be easily done in Xcode with so many methods with similar names)
b) the right method wasn’t being called (Captain Obvious, but bear with me here!)

I checked a) first in your code and it looked fine, so the question for b) then became

What could cause the method to not be called? You don’t have much control over the sequence of calls between iOS and your Table methods, so the next thing that came to mind was, maybe it is being called, but called zero times (if you follow me).

What could cause it to be called zero times? My next thought was that numberOfRowsInSection: contained an error that was causing nil (or zero) to be returned.