Challenge 1

Hi I had tried to make the challenge 1 : sort with the length, but I’ve failed.
I read that it is possible to make it only with the Interface Builder, so I open my project and launch my : “MyDocument.xib” file.
I select the Table Column and go to Attributes in the Inspector.
From now I’ve tried many ideas :

• 1st : I thought “length” was an operator so I put @length.personName for “Sort Key” and use compare: as “Selector”
  • 2ndly : I use @count.personName as “Sort Key” and compare: as “Selector”
  • 3rd : I use employees.@count.personName as “Sort Key” and compare as “Selector”

My conclusions :
Thanks to GDB I understood that @length isn’t an operator so I’ve stopped using it.
I think my problem is with my Key-path, may be I don’t completely understand how it works.
But my major issue is “How do I use length methode of NSString?”

I use the code that I’ve made earlier in the chapter with an NSSarrayController.
MyDocument.h

[code]#import <Cocoa/Cocoa.h>
@interface MyDocument : NSDocument
{
NSMutableArray *employees;
}

• (void)setEmployees:(NSMutableArray *)a;
    @end[/code]

MyDocument.m

[code]#import “MyDocument.h”
@implementation MyDocument

• (id)init
    {
    self = [super init];
    if (self)
    {
    employees = [[NSMutableArray alloc] init];
    }
    return self;
    }

• (void)dealloc
    {
    [self setEmployees:nil];
    [super dealloc];
    }

• (void)setEmployees:(NSMutableArray *)a
    {
    if (a==employees)
    {
    return;
    }
    else
    {
    [a retain];
    [employees release];
    employees = a;
    }
    }

• (NSString *)windowNibName
    {
    return @“MyDocument”;
    }

• (void)windowControllerDidLoadNib:(NSWindowController *) aController
    {
    [super windowControllerDidLoadNib:aController];
    }

• (NSData *)dataOfType:(NSString *)typeName error:(NSError **)outError
    {
    if ( outError != NULL ) {
    *outError = [NSError errorWithDomain:NSOSStatusErrorDomain code:unimpErr userInfo:NULL];
    }