Challenge question

I am also new to programming. I have to say that after reading various Objective C books I never understood fully why a value, other than void, is used at the beginning of a function or variable. Thanks to your explanation it finally makes sense.
Here is what I did for the challenge:
#include <stdio.h>

float remainingAngle (float angleA, angleB)
{
float result = 180 - (angleA + angleB);
return result;
}

int main (int argc, const char * argv[])
{
float angleA = 30.0;
float angleB = 60.0;
float angleC = remainingAngle (angleA, angleB);
printf(“The third angle is %.2f.\n”, angleC);

return 0;

}

Here’s my question - I declared the parameters angleA, angleB in the function remainingAngle to be of type float (I hope this is the correct way to say this). Since they are local variables within the function it is necessary to redeclare angleA & angleB inside main. Is this accurate? My confusion is caused by using the same names (angleA, angleB) in the function as well as main.

So, I altered the names of the parameters to:
#include <stdio.h>

float remainingAngle (float value1, value2)
{
float result = 180 - (value1 + value2);
return result;
}

{
float angleA = 30.0;
float angleB = 60.0;
float angleC = remainingAngle (angleA, angleB);
printf(“The third angle is %.2f.\n”, angleC);

return 0;

}

Both versions resulted in the correct answer, is the second method preferable to avoid confusion?
Thanks for taking the time to read this,
Bill

I think that the answer to your question is all about the scoping of the variables here.

angleA, angleB, and angleC are just names that we use in the IDE so that it makes sense to us. As far as the compiler is concerned the name doesn’t matter as they are each local variables for each function.