Challenge Question?

I completed the challenge this way, and got the correct answer to output. Did I do it wrong?

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

float angleA = 60.0;
float angleB = 30.0;

//New Function here

float remainingAngle (float angleC){
float totalTwoSides = angleA + angleB;
angleC = 180 - totalTwoSides;
return angleC;
}

int main(int argc, const char * argv[])
{

// insert code here...
float totalTwoSides = angleA + angleB;
float angleC = remainingAngle(totalTwoSides);
printf("The remaining angle is %.2f degrees. \n", angleC);

return 0;

}

As someone who is wanting to learn development and programming for the iphone/ipad, this books is really giving me the fundamentals. Let me know how I could make my program better. Thanks

Stan

Hi Stan,

I’m a newbie too and went through your code. It seems like you’re doing the same things with angleA and angleB inside AND outside your function.

I just finished this challenge too and came up with something different. Don’t know if it’s right or wrong but I got the answer as well. See if it helps you:

#include <stdio.h>

float remainingAngle (float firstAngle, float secondAngle)
{
float thirdAngle = 180 - (firstAngle + secondAngle);
return thirdAngle;
}

{

float angleA = 30.0;
float angleB = 60.0;
float angleC = remainingAngle(angleA, angleB);
printf("The third angle is %f\n", angleC);

return 0;

}

Best.

Amit

Yours does make better sense. And yes I am putting it inside and outside the function. I got the answer, but it was extra coding. I’m still learning and it’s difficult trying to remember some of this when you only get a few hours each night. I need to do better in making time.

Stan

Hi guys,
[color=#BF0000]Update: :ugeek: I reread and reviewed functions again and now I understand what I asked below.[/color]
angleA, angleB are passed to the function which then runs and returns the result as the return of the function and thus the value of angleC.