'Copy' and mutable string

I’m new to OOP and there’s a key point I’m obviously missing here.

In the ‘copy’ section of the chapter, there’s an example that creates a mutable string “Ono” and passes it to myObj as the last name.

Then “Lennon” is appended to the “Ono” string.

The book states that ‘copy’ prevents the last name of myObj from being changed. I’m not sure I understand why the appendString line WOULD change last name if copy weren’t there.

We set last name to x, THEN changed x. Why would last name change after changing x (if it weren’t for ‘copy’)?

Is this because x is a pointer?

Exactly.

It’s important to remember that one of the primary features of an object-oriented program is that no object actually contains any other object. Let’s break it down, first by looking at what could happen, and then by seeing what we can do about it.

Let’s say I have a class, InsuranceReport. An InsuranceReport will hold a list of my most valuable possessions so that I can get reimbursed properly if my home gets blown away by a tornado. Here’s what you might see in InsuranceReport.h:

[code]@interface InsuranceReport : NSObject {
NSArray *valuableItems; // An array of my most precious possessions
}

@property (strong, nonatomic) NSArray *valuableItems;[/code]

Now consider a method in a mythical Person.m where I do some management of my possessions.

[code]
InsuranceReport *report = [[InsuranceReport alloc] init]; // Create the InsuranceReport instance to use someday.

// Lalala, time to start cataloguing my possessions so I know about everything I own.
// I’ll catalogue the most valuable ones first and add them to the report,
// then go back and finish cataloguing the rest.
[self setPossessions:[[NSMutableArray alloc] init]]; // First, I need a mutable array to keep track of them.
[[self possessions] addObject:@“Gold coins”];
[[self possessions] addObject:@“Rubies”];
[[self possessions] addObject:@“Diamonds”];