Delegation vs. target/action vs. callbacks

Hi. First of all, I would like to say that you’ve written one hell of a book. I’m a beginner in iOS programming with quite some experience with other technology stacks (mainly Java SE/EE and Python, but I’ve used a few other languages as well), and have read many programming books, and this one is just really nicely written.

What I’m struggling with is the delegate vs. taget/action vs. callbacks question. I don’t really get when you would use which. I managed to get formal / informal protocols out of the equation as informal ones seem not to be used any more - modern Objective-C uses @optional @protocol methods - correct?

At one point in the book you say that delegates are object-oriented version of callbacks. Why is that? For example, in Java, one would create an interface with a few methods and register it somehow (it would be multicast most of the time, though) - this is pretty much what the delegate is, right? So the Java implementations of the given interface are also objects, and the methods are callbacks, so I see no difference. Or by callbacks do you mean simple functions, like in functional programming? But then again, there are languages where functions are also objects and one can store arbitrary data in.