Exc_Bad_Access

I am brand new to Objective-C iPhone and I just started the 'Quiz" iPhone app exercise which worked right off the bat as is from the book. :smiley: But then I added a bunch of NSLog statements figuring that these where the equivalent of print statements so that I could step through. The app started crashing and in the debug mode I saw that “Exc_Bad_Access” was being thrown, which according to the forums indicates bad memory management? I did not think NSLog would cause this, it this because the memory location has changed? [NB I add “currentQuestionIndex = -1;” so that my question index would start at the first question instead of the second one when the iPhone simulator launched.]

Sample of my code changes…

//
// QuizAppDelegate.m
// Quiz
//
// Created by ronald greti on 5/16/10.
// Copyright MyCompanyName 2010. All rights reserved.
//

#import “QuizAppDelegate.h”

@implementation QuizAppDelegate

@synthesize window;

-(id)init
{
// Call the init method implemented by the superclass
[super init];

//Create two arrays and make the pointers point to them
questions = [[NSMutableArray alloc] init];
answers = [[NSMutableArray alloc] init];

// Add questions and answers to the arrays
[questions addObject:@"What is 7 + 7?"];
[answers addObject:@"14"];

[questions addObject:@"What is the capitol of Vermont?"];
[answers addObject:@"Montpelier"];

[questions addObject:@"From what is cognac made?"];
[answers addObject:@"Grapes"];

[b]NSLog(@"displaying current index value: %@", currentQuestionIndex);[/b]
[b]currentQuestionIndex = -1;[/b]

// Return the address of the new object
return self;

}

• (IBAction)showQuestion:(id)sender
    {
    // Step to the next question
    currentQuestionIndex++;
    NSLog(@“displaying current index value: %@”, currentQuestionIndex);

// Am I past thge last questions?
    if (currentQuestionIndex == [questions count])
    {
    // Go back to the first question
    currentQuestionIndex = 0;
    }