Good book but having a little trouble

Maybe it’s me or maybe not but I am determined to learn this one way or another.

The book is great and its been fun learning how to make simple programs and for the most part I’ve done all the challenges.

My issue is this, at chapter 9 and around there I started having a hard time following what is actually being taught.

The chapters Pass By reference, Structs, and The Heap made little sense but I moved on thinking that knowing it backwards and forwards would be better explained and exampled later since the Objective-C chapter was right after those. I’m now on chapter 14 and feel like I’m not understanding most if not all the chapters by now. I keep seeing new commands pop up without a good explanation of what everything is and how it works. I have zero programming experience so this might be the major issue but any suggestions on how I can better understand it? I’ve gone over it twice and still don’t feel confident I’m grasping the concept thats being taught.

I really like the book and its presentation but I’m wondering if anyone has also has some issues around this point and maybe tell me how you got around them.

I’m on Ch. 15, and glad to hear that I’m not the only one having some trouble. I’m plugging along, but wish there was a bit more explanation along the way. Also, the Challenges would work better for me if there was some discussion, at the back of the book, of possible solutions. The forums are helpful in that regard, yes, but… I picked up the book as an alternative to searching the web, and I want to hear it from the author.

FWIW, I’ve found it helpful to read other explanations when a chapter seems a bit short. Scott Stevenson’s “Learn Objective-C” cocoadevcentral.com/d/learn_objectivec/ has helped. His explanations aren’t necessarily clearer or better, but they are different. And sometimes that’s enough.

Yea that should help at least some. Thanks for the link.