Homepwner crashes in Simulator

I am just beginning to learn IOS programming on my mac book running OSX 10.6.8 / XCode 3.2 / IOS Simulator 4.3.8 so clearly I am behind the curve; but this is what is available to me at moment.

So far (through first 13 chapters) things have worked pretty well, and I love the way you have explained concepts and introduced them at the appropriate time. Now to the problem at hand:

The app works fine I can save items in the archive and open the app again and it is initialized properly. It is only when I close the simulator and start again that the app is crashing. If I delete the archive file and restart it works fine again. Which means as long as I keep the simulator running it fine, when I restart the simulator the app is crashing with following message

Program received signal: “EXC_BAD_ACCESS”.

I have no idea how to proceed or debug this.

Having had close to 50 views but no replies, gave me a hint that more information was needed. So I had to shed my fear of Debugger and venture in. I was able to pin point the problem and did fix it, which I will share here in a moment. But that changes my question, because while the problem is fixed I am not convinced the solution is “correct” (as in robust and consistent with IOS best practices). Also I would love to have a clearer grasp of why the problem is happening in the first place. I am not convinced that it is just incompatibilities between current and older versions of IOS SDK.

The app crashed as soon as I run it and the stack Trace looks like this

#0 0x00f2e09f in objc_msgSend
#1 0x04b1a0e0 in ??
#2 0x00db1c1d in __CFStringAppendFormatCore
#3 0x00cf9507 in _CFStringCreateWithFormatAndArgumentsAux
#4 0x00010600 in -[NSPlaceholderString initWithFormat:locale:arguments:]
#5 0x00010f84 in -[NSString initWithFormat:]
#6 0x00003254 in -[BNRItem description] at BNRItem.m:153
#7 0x000024ee in -[ItemsViewController tableView:cellForRowAtIndexPath:] at ItemsViewController.m:70