How did I do on the Gold Challenge?

The gold challenge wasn’t… too bad. The thing that really kicked my ass was the NSMutableArray in my BNRContainer. I wrote all my logic, but didn’t add a designated initializer. So the memory for my NSMutableArray wasn’t getting allocated. It just get reporting null when I inspected it in the debugger. I fear the memory stuff is going to be the bane of my existence for awhile. I’m a programmer, but I come from the web side of things. So I’m used to dynamic typed/garbage collected languages (PHP and Ruby mainly). I’ll just have to get used to this mindset (hopefully it becomes second nature at some point soon).

Anyway, this is my second foray into Objective-C/Cocoa/Cocoa Touch, but this is my first real try. The last time I just skimmed through Learning iOS Development series from APress.

So how did I do on my gold challenge? It ultimately works (although I haven’t tried adding a BNRContainer to my BNRContainer yet…). Feel free to critique me on the littlest details.

BNRContainer.h

#import <Foundation/Foundation.h>
#import "BNRItem.h"

@interface BNRContainer : BNRItem
{
  NSMutableArray *subItems;
}

- (id)initWithContainerName:(NSString *)name 
    valueInDollars:(int)value 
      serialNumber:(NSString *)sNumber;

- (void)addItem:(BNRItem *)item;

- (NSMutableArray *)subItems;

@end

BNRContainer.m

#import "BNRContainer.h"

@implementation BNRContainer

- (id)init
{
  return [self initWithName:@"Container" valueInDollars:0 serialNumber:@""];
}

- (id)initWithContainerName:(NSString *)name valueInDollars:(int)value serialNumber:(NSString *)sNumber
{
  self = [super init];

if (self) {
    [self setItemName:name];
    [self setValueInDollars:value];
    [self setSerialNumber:sNumber];
    subItems = [[NSMutableArray alloc] init];
  }

return self;
}

- (void)addItem:(BNRItem *)item
{
  [subItems addObject:item];
}

- (NSMutableArray *)subItems
{
  return subItems;
}

- (int)valueInDollars
{
  int totalValue = valueInDollars;