How is the array updated?

I am new to objective-c and IOS, but have been programming in Visual Basic for a long time.
I can’t understand how does the possessions array get updated with the possession from ItemDetailViewController.

Setting the initial values for possession is clear in this line:

Next, leaving detailViewController, the code is also clear in updating possession:

// "Save" changes to possession [possession setPossessionName:[nameField text]]; [possession setSerialNumber:[serialNumberField text]]; [possession setValueInDollars:[[valueField text] intValue]];

What I don’t understand is how the array is updated, I would expect some code somewhere like this:

[possessions replaceObjectAtIndex:[indexPath row] withObject:[detailViewController possession]; (This is just code to make my point)

I don’t see how the item in possessions gets updated with the new data in possession anywhere.

The answer is in the magic of object pointers.

The PossessionStore is the object that actually keeps the NSArray of possessions. When you ask it for the list:

you’re getting back a pointer to that array, which contains pointers to each of the possessions it contains.