How to make code work in ARC?

Hi All:

I have the book really enlightening?

I am still a newbie trying to learn iOS programming and ARC.

So far, I have been able to convert all of the previous chapters code to ARC. I hit some difficulty here.

I used the compile flag: -fno-objc-arc in “build phases > compile sources” to force the ARC compiler to compile the file as a none ARC files for:
CocoaServer: HTTPServer.m and TCPServer.m
Notified: NotifiedAppDelegate.m
I confirmed that the books code - with the small absolute to relative modification discussed in earlier posts - executes - will at least the iphone simulator says “Data sent to server”.

Then in the NotifiedAppDelegate.m file, with the compile flag still set, I commented out all the [* release] lines. Yes, the code is now leaky, but hey this is an experiment to learn.
There are no [* autorelease] lines to comment out.

I confirmed the same result “Data sent to server” for both 4.3 and 5.0 in the simulator.

When I tried to convert the sole [* retain] line in the function below, I encountered a connection failed when executing. The 2 lines I tried are commented out below it.

• (void)netServiceBrowser:(NSNetServiceBrowser *)aNetServiceBrowser
    didFindService:(NSNetService *)aNetService
    moreComing:(BOOL)moreServicesComing
    {
    // Looking for an HTTP service, but only one with the name CocoaHTTPServer
    if (!desktopServer && [[aNetService name] isEqualToString:@“CocoaHTTPServer”]) {
    desktopServer = [aNetService retain];
    // desktopServer = (NSNetService *) aNetService;
    // desktopServer = aNetService;
    [desktopServer resolveWithTimeout:30];
    [desktopServer setDelegate:self];
    [statusLabel setText:@“Resolving CocoaHTTPServer…”];
    } else {
    NSLog(@“ignoring %@”, aNetService);
    }
    }

I investigated the _bridge_retain and __bridge_retain also, but I do not know yet if that will be useful.

Any suggestions on how to make this code work in ARC, would be most helpful.