I really do not get it :(

Hello all,

it really doesn’t make sense to me why we can change this line :

by

I understand the first line. It’s in C and we specify the context and the stroke color for it.

But what about the second line?

First it seems we are dynamically creating an UIColor object. Then we are sending it the setStroke message. But :

• How can this object know to set the stroke of a context since we never tell to this object wich context to target?
  • Can we simply create an object like this [UIColor colorWithRed:0.6 green:0.6 blue:0.6 alpha:1.0] without alloc nor init, nor pointer?

I would appreciate any insight there. I really don’t get how this object can tell the context wich stroke to use without even knowing its existence :slight_smile:

Thank you

I struggled a little with this same concept at first too. I think the secret is in the [color=blue]UIGraphicsGetCurrentContext()[/color] function. I’m just beginning my iOS journey too but it sounds like the current device context is available, and anyone can call this function get to it. According to the documentation, the view object squirrels away the context making it available to callers of the UIGraphicsGetCurrentContext() function.

It’s under assumption that UIColor’s [color=blue]setStroke[/color] method simply calls UIGraphicsGetCurrentContext() to get the graphics context then calls [color=blue]CGContextSetStrokeColor()[/color] or something similar.

Again, I’m just a beginner to and I’m making some assumptions so if I’m wrong, please correct me.

In your drawRect: method, you call a function UIGraphicsGetCurrentContext(). This gives you a pointer to the current context of the application. Using this pointer as an argument to CGContextSetStrokeColor allows you to specify that the context’s stroke color be changed.