Invalid Host string: Localhost [Resolved]

Hi everyone,

I am a beginner never having learning programming before with exception to some html exposure.

I’m running into trouble with the AGoodStart Project.

I have entered the code as instructed, the Build is Successful - the “Build Succeeded” Icon shows up. However, The debugging part shown in the book doesn’t appear and a “Could not launch AGoodStart” invalid host string: “localhost” icon pops up. I have added a screen shot of what’s seen.

I have triple checked the code I entered to ensure that there aren’t any syntax issues.

If anyone has any suggestions, it would be greatly appreciated. Please keep in mind I am new to programming but I am willing to learn with clear instructions.

Thanks in advance.
K

Edit**: I moved on to the next project in the book while waiting for a reply and had the exam same issue, it seems like there is something wrong with my Host files on my macbook. Any suggestions?

Edit 2: So I found this solution to the problem, but I don’t quite understand step two “Execute ‘dscacheutil -flushcache’ to reload the DNS configuration” Can someone explain?
Link: stackoverflow.com/questions/9832 … -localhost

Hmm. This is very strange.

The command that stack overflow suggests must be run from the Terminal app, which is located in /Applications/Utilities/

Give it a try…

I’m sorry – I’ve never seen this.

Hi Aaron,

Thanks for the response.

I suspected that it was a terminal command, however, I am not too familiar with that as well. I have tried several combinations and have attached a screen shot. Maybe it is my execution of the command? Any comments?

Edit:

I tired a few more combinations and realized that the command was executed initially. However it doesn’t solve my problem. See screenshot below.

I think that first line worked. (Unix commands, like dscacheutil, are notorious for silent success.) Have you tried building since?