Noob hating life

Complete newbie to programming, which I thought this book was meant for. Am I supposed to comprehend everything as I go or do I just keep going even if I’m confused? I was getting it up until page 33 (the local variable turkey program) when I totally hit a brick wall. I stared at that page for an ENTIRE DAY trying to make sense of it. Still don’t get it.

I moved on to the “99 Beers” program on the next page and kinda got it until the function called itself. I don’t get what made the numbers reverse themselves and count upward. Why wouldn’t the numbers just keep going -1,-2,-3, etc? Do I just keep moving through the book hoping it will all eventually make sense at some point?

I’m sorry you are having a hard time. Here are a couple of suggestions:

1. Get enough sleep. This helps me a lot when I’m learning new stuff.

2. Accept that it is going to be difficult. That isn’t because you’re not smart enough, it is because this is just difficult stuff.

Now, the question is really “I’m confused, should I just keep going.”

Yes, keep going. When you’ve read 60 pages or so, double back and see if the first 20 make more sense.

I have the same problem. I got the cocoa book and the objC book at the same time and my first thought was to just hit the cocoa book off the bat. got confused quickly, so i’m now re-re-reading the first 5 chapters of the Objective C book. it’s starting to slowly make sense :slight_smile:

I hear you, and I’ve been there…a couple times.

When I was finishing up college, I decided to attend a computer school in addition to the university I was attending. I had decided to get my certification as both a Certified Novell Engineer as well as a Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer…neither of which are easy. In addition, I had almost zero knowledge of what makes computer networking work. At the time I didn’t even know what a router was.