Tutorial: How to use setDelegate: correctly

I’m a total cocoa programming beginner, and I became very frustrated by the section on Delegates after trying to do the challenge “Make a Delegate”. In the Delegates section (on p.96), the author teaches the reader how to setup a delegate: you send the message setDelegate: to an object. As a result, I came up with the following code for the challenge (I decided to dispense with retain counts/memory management until after I got my app working):

MyDelegate.h:

[code]#import <Cocoa/Cocoa.h>

@interface MyDelegate : NSObject {

IBOutlet NSWindow* window;

}

• (id)init;
  • (NSSize)windowWillResize:(NSWindow *)sender toSize:(NSSize)frameSize;

@end[/code]

MyDelegate.m

[code]#import “MyDelegate.h”

@implementation MyDelegate

• (id) init
    {
    if (![super init]) {
    return nil;
    }

[window setDelegate:self];

return self;
    }

• (NSSize)windowWillResize:(NSWindow *)sender
    toSize:(NSSize)frameSize
    {
    frameSize.height = 2 * frameSize.width;
    return frameSize;
    }

@end
[/code]
In Interface Builder(IB), I dragged an Object from the Library onto MainWindow.xib, and in the Identity Inspector I entered MyDelegate for the class name. Then I ctrl-clicked on the MyDelegate instance in MainWindow.xib, and I dragged a connection from the ‘window’ outlet to the app’s main window.

Then I saved everything, clicked build&run, but I could resize the window to any size, i.e. the window size would not maintain a 2:1 ratio. Why didn’t setDelegate: succeed in setting the delegate for the app window?

There is a section titled ‘Common Errors in Implementing a Delegate’ in the book (on p. 107), and it says one of the errors is “Forgetting to set the delegate outlet”. Whaaa??! I flipped back to the Delegate section of the book, and I carefully looked at the example, and in the example the author never uses IB to create a connection for the delegate.