Weakest point in the book so far (for me)

I’ve found the BNR IOS Programming book 3rd edition to be a valuable resource of information for me so far. I’m a professional software developer, but new to iOS programming, so I have no problem learning syntax, and when I read books such as this one, I go for the subject matter context more than anything. “Why is it done this way?” is the style I’ve appreciated in the book.

However, the Core Data chapter is the prodigal chapter so far. Case in point, on p. 325, under Updating BNRItemStore, the authors explain the complex relationships between NSManagedObjectContext, NSPersistentStoreCoordinator, NSManagedObjectModel, and the underlying database in a 6-line paragraph!

Really? Come on guys, you can do better than that. You’ve shown it in your other topics in the book. I know entire books are dedicated to the whole subject of Core Data, but the above relationships merit more than just a mere paragraph.

Thanks!

Sorry, but I have to say a few words in defense of the BNR folks.

Considering its price tag, you can’t expect the book to be perfect and to spoon feed the reader everything one has to learn.

You should read Apple’s documentation on Core Data if you are looking for something more profound.

The book held my hand in a LOT of topics, and I’m appreciative of that! I stand by my feedback, that is, that particular topic desrved just a mere 6-line paragraph.

I have to say that I agree with ZillaG on this one. I also am an experienced developer with more than 20 years experience. I have programmed with DB2, Oracle, SQLServer, ADO and ADO.NET. Objective-C is very different in how it manages db access and I was dismayed by the 6 line paragraph. The rest of the book has been fantastic, so why drop the ball here in what is a very important topic?

[quote]Objective-C is very different in how it manages db access and I was dismayed by the 6 line paragraph.
[/quote]