Whereami maintain user zoom

After completing the whereami solution as described in ch 5 of the book, I started thinking about how to enhance it. One thing is that the solution always sets the zoom to a fixed distance, e.g. 500m. I was thinking that it would be good to maintain whatever zoom the user has selected. I started playing with mapView:didUpdateUserLocation. I couldn’t figure a way to determine the region distance, but I can access the region span. I use that to create a new region, centered around the updated location.

• (void)mapView:(MKMapView *)mapView didUpdateUserLocation:(MKUserLocation *)u
    {
    CLLocationCoordinate2D loc = [u coordinate];

// use current span
    MKCoordinateSpan span = [mapView region].span;
    MKCoordinateRegion region = MKCoordinateRegionMake(loc, span);

// as described in the book
    // MKCoordinateRegion region = MKCoordinateRegionMakeWithDistance(loc, 500, 500);

[worldView setRegion:region animated:YES];
    }

This doesn’t quite do what I want to do. First of all, the zoom SHOULD be based on a fixed distance the first time it finds a location. However, after that, as the user zooms in and out, the region should put the new location in the center, but keep the span fixed.

I guess I could use a static variable as a counter so that the method behaves differently the first time the method is called, but I’m thinking there is a more elegant solution. Has anyone done this or have insight into how this could be accomplished?

This is what I implemented, using a static BOOL

- (void)mapView:(MKMapView *)mapView didUpdateUserLocation:(MKUserLocation *)u { static BOOL firstTime = YES; CLLocationCoordinate2D loc = [u coordinate]; MKCoordinateRegion region; if (firstTime) { region = MKCoordinateRegionMakeWithDistance(loc, 500, 500); firstTime = NO; } else { // make a new region using the current span region = MKCoordinateRegionMake(loc, [mapView region].span); } [worldView setRegion:region animated:YES]; }