Why is the current init method called but not the super's?

Hi guys,

I’m new to iOS programming and Objective-C, so that’s why I have this beginner-level question.

So I was learning about the singleton in Chapter 9, and got confused by this sharedStore method:

+ (BNRItemStore *)sharedStore
{
    static BNRItemStore *sharedStore = nil;
    if (!sharedStore)
        sharedStore = [[super allocWithZone:nil] init];
    return sharedStore;
}

I understand everything except for this line: sharedStore = [[super allocWithZone:nil] init];

The point where I’m confused is, why am I calling the allocWithZone method of the super class but the init method in the current class? Shouldn’t it also be the one from super class?

This must be about the language itself, and I don’t really know what keyword to search about this question so I ask it here.

Any hint is appreciated!

Pine

[super allocWithZone:nil] creates an instance of BNRItemStore; that’s why you need to call the init method of BNRItemStore on that instance.

[quote]I understand everything except for this line: sharedStore = [[super allocWithZone:nil] init];

The point where I’m confused is, why am I calling the allocWithZone method of the super class but the init method in the current class? Shouldn’t it also be the one from super class?[/quote]

You’re calling super’s allocWithZone because you’ve overridden self’s allocWithZone to do nothing - it now just returns itself.

Then you’re calling self’s init as usual, because you still want to init your own class (every class no matter what is going to have its own designated init doing setup work for it). Recall that alloc creates the memory space for a new object - which you’ve effectively disabled for the singleton here - while init does the initial setup work.

If you didn’t call super’s alloc, you’d end up with an endless loop as allocWithZone calls sharedStore, and sharedStore calls allocWithZone.

Excellent explanation but you can use more precise terminology.