Xcode 5 defaults to storyboard, no XIB file

Xcode 5 (still in preview at the time of posting) doesn’t have a checkbox for storyboard when creating a new project. It defaults to storyboard and there is no XIB file. How to adjust? Thanks!

Just starting out myself and noticing a bunch of differences. I believe the reason for no XIB file is due to Apple forcing the usage of auto layout and thus defaulting to storyboard. I could be wrong, as I’m pretty new to all this, but judging by the wwdc session videos, that’s the vibe I got.

I’m assuming you’re running into the same issue I’m having where the arrays aren’t being populated and read this post viewtopic.php?f=212&t=5646 telling you to uncheck storyboard? :wink:

Also having this problem. I tried making an empty application and then adding a new Objective-C class (where the “With XIB for User Interface” option is present). But now I’m getting an exception.

Screenshot 1: http://s12.postimg.org/oxxqzabr1/Screen_Shot_2013_09_15_at_8_07_54_PM.png
Screenshot 2: http://s8.postimg.org/5b6yt3bid/Screen_Shot_2013_09_15_at_7_47_49_PM.png
Project File: filedropper.com/quiz_1

In this first exercise, the init code calls the nib file, which doesn’t exist in Xcode5 (unless you add it manually). So you need to get rid of the initWithNibName code. Here is what your partial code should look like:

[code]@implementation WhereamiViewController

• (void)viewDidLoad
    {
    if (self)
    {
    // Create two arrays and make the pointers point to them
    questions = [[NSMutableArray alloc] init];
    answers = [[NSMutableArray alloc] init];

// Add questions and answers to the array
      [questions addObject:@"What is 7 + 7?"];
      [answers addObject:@"14"];

[questions addObject:@"What is the capital of Vermont?"];
      [answers addObject:@"Montpelier"];

[questions addObject:@"What is cognac made from?"];
      [answers addObject:@"Grapes"];

}
    // Be sure to delete the return as well
    }
    [/code]