A brief complaint

I have been programming for 30 years…this is my first attempt at programming on a Mac.

I have to say using a PHYSICS problem as an example is way over my head. Not really understanding this chapter that well and I think it is because I know nothing about Physics. I’ll have to look at some other books to get an understanding of what this chapter is really teaching me. A simpler example would have made this a lot easier.

I’m sorry to hear that, but thank you for letting us know. If you have any questions about it, please ask. We would be happy to help.

In general it may be helpful to go through the chapter without trying to understand everything. You are learning a lot of new things at once: a new language, new development environment, and new subject matter (physics!). We find it is helpful to muddle through it and get the code working, and then go back and try to work out exactly what the program is doing and why it works.

Adam

Thanks for response…like I said a BRIEF complaint…I am looking forward to the SWIFT book that will be out this summer. I am actually glad you put this book out first because I do like learning the GUI side as I go vs. going thru a whole book of terminal code that I will probably never use on a project. That is great for examples but kinda boring to learn.

We are looking forward to it, too. There is a lot to Swift that we weren’t able to cover in this book!

If it helps any (and it may not), here are a couple of things that were not really explained in the example.

dt is a convention standing for “delta time” (Δt), where “delta” itself is a convention for “the change in”. So dt is just shorthand for “the change in time”.