Adding onCrimeDeleted() to CrimeListFragment.Callbacks

Hi folks, I’m wondering if I’m a stylish Android programmer with my implementation of deleting a Crime in the two-pane context. I added delete in two different ways:

1. from the option menu, where it pops up a NumberPicker dialog similar to the DatePicker dialog, where the user picks the number of the crime to delete
  2. From a long press on a Crime in the list, which pops up an AlertDialog to verify that the user wants to delete the crime.

Either way presented a problem: If I delete a Crime out of the list that is currently being displayed in the detail, I have to remove it from the detail. I solved it by adding onCrimeDeleted() to the CrimeListFragment.Callbacks and implemented it similarly to the onCrimeSelected method in CrimeListActivity. I checked for the presence of detail_fragment_container and only took action if it was present.

There were two problems:

1. I didn’t know which Crime was being displayed in the detail, so I didn’t know if I had to remove it.
  2. In order to remove the fragment from the detail, I needed the fragment itself – the FragmentTransaction remove() method takes a Fragment.

The solution: tags

To solve #1, I noticed that the View class has a setTag()/getTag() pair that can attach an object to a View and retrieve it later. So I picked the crime_suspect Button at semi-random and attached the Crime Id to it at creation:

mSuspectButton = (Button) view.findViewById(R.id.crime_suspect);
mSuspectButton.setTag(mCrime.getId());  // used to identify the crime in CrimeListActivity.onCrimeDeleted()
mSuspectButton.setOnClickListener(new View.OnClickListener() {
        @Override
        public void onClick(View pView) {
            startActivityForResult(pickContact,REQUEST_CONTACT);
        }
});