Finally finished the 2nd ed. ObjC book

Thank you for this excellent learning tool. I enjoyed the material and the style very much. I don’t know if there will be a 3rd edition of this book seeing as how most efforts seem to be transitioning towards SWIFT, but a “For the more curious” section on the BITWSE operations chapter would have been most welcomed. I understand the concepts but it is definitely a topic requiring more in depth coverage, (particularly for the ensuing ‘SpeakableSTrings’ challenge that follows) so I will supplement it with other material. For anyone finishing the book, I found that reading the 'Programming with Objective-C" PDF from apple (developer.apple.com/library/mac … 10-CH1-SW1) immediately after helped closed any gaps and solidified the knowledge from the book. It is only a 100 page document and a great read.

Now, onto my next journey with your iOS Programming book 4td Ed.

Well done fsck66. It is a remarkable book. I’m just beginning Part IV now. Just wondering, how long did you spend on the book from start to finish? I myself have spent 6 weeks in all to get to page 236, beginning of Part IV, which I think is reasonable given that I’ve had days off in that time, and most days didn’t have a ‘full’ day of study put in. I do feel like I will benefit from more revision though so I intend to read back through from the start (I do some revision as I go along too though to supplement).

Also, thanks for tip re. Apple pdf. I do think I might need something to bridge the gap between this book and the iOS Programming book also by BNR. I was thinking about getting the Kochan book as well as an additional resource/ reference and for the exercises.

Have you considered going through a C book as well, or do you already know C?

Cheers.

Hi sineadW <–you’ve been camel-cased :slight_smile: