Problem with connecting the table view

I’ve made it up to the end of chapter 32, but I am faced with 2 issues. First of all the contents of the self.tasks array are not displayed in the Table View. Neither do my entered tasks end up in the array. It seems to me like there’s no connection. I followed the instructions in the book and double-checked, but I’m afraid I’m missing something.

File’s Owner connections are:
Outlets
taskTable-Table View
window-Window
Referencing Outlets
dataSource-Table View
delegate-Window
Received Actions
addTask-Add Task

Table View connections are:
Outlets
dataSource-File’s Owner
Referencing Outlets
taskTable-File’s Owner

I’m new to Objective-C, but made it this far (in the book) without any help, but now I’m stuck. What am I missing?

Secondly I haven’t got a clue how the tasks array in BNRDocument.h is “connected” to the Table View in Document.xib, but I guess both issues are connected somehow. In other words, how are:

@property (nonatomic) NSMutableArray *tasks; @property (nonatomic) IBOutlet NSTableView *taskTable;
…connected?

Help is much appreciated!

Anyone?

Make sure that you are using a Cell Based TableView object.

There are some differences between Cell Based and View Based TableView objects.

[Become a competent programmer: pretty-function.org]

Thanks again for helping me out.

Hi!

It seems that I have the exact same issue. However, the hint regarding the different types of table views did not help me. Could somebody please clarify? I have the following issue: whenever I hit the “Add Task” button, I get a new row reading the default text (“Table View Cell”) instead of “New Item”. I can edit the new item. When I change, a plist file is created including the correct number of items - but they all read “Table View Cell” instead of whatever I input during editing the rows. There seems to be a misconnection.

Thanks!
Best regards,
Björn

Guys, I had the same issue.
Here’s how I solved the problem.