Did anyone else find this chapter challenging?

I am new to programming and thus have moved through this book at a snails pace, but thus far, I have grasped everything and can do all the challenges with ease. This is the first chapter that I have gone through twice, and still do not seem to be prepared to answer the challenge without looking at sources. I can understand all the code from everyones examples, but am having trouble creating my own solution. Does anyone else think that that the end of this chapter hits you with a lot of code and not much explanation? I do love the book, thanks BNR!

If you are new to programming, objectiveC can be most challenging. Ive been a programmer for 20 years and have programmed in almost all major languages, I wanted to learn objectiveC so I bought this book. I recommended it to a friend of mine who was never programmed as well. As a new programmer, there are two hurdles in front of you. The concepts and the syntax. The concepts are pretty much the same throughout all object oriented languages. The syntax differenciates the languages.

ObjectiveC in my opinion has a high degree of complexity. There are other languages out there that have a much less degree of difficulty in their approach to language structure. As I mentioned before, my friend who is new to programming stopped around this stage as well, and moved to python to understand the concepts first and then is going to come back to objective c. Python, Delphi, Ruby are all languages that are much more forgiving and understandable to a beginner for those wanting to grab the concepts. It makes the move to objective C much easier.