I've never programmed before

Hi all as the subject title says i’ve never programmed before, i’ve been reading through Objective-C Programming: Big Nerd Ranch Guide and understanding most of what it’s telling me, here is my problem, when it comes to some of the Challenges i’m unsure where to start? I come to these forums and look at other peoples attempts at the challenges and when i read them i totally understand what they have done to get the challenge correct, I’m just unsure why i’m having to be shown the answer instead of going YES i know how to do this !!!

Is this because writing code is so new to me that maybe i’m unsure where to start or what do you think my problem is? any help or advice or words of encouragement would be GREATLY appreciated on this matter :slight_smile:

1 Like

I am new to this as well so from one new person to the next…
Keep going and keep failing! I have a quote in my work area that says “Chop wood, Carry Water—Jay Mohr” . It comes down to doing little tasks that add up to the big picture. So….“chop wood and carry water” already! re-read, work hard, read more, work harder……go man go!

If you’ve never programmed before and if you’re still getting most of what the book is telling you then you are doing better than you imagine you are. Keep in mind that a computer science student has already been exposed to discrete math, object-oriented design, algorithms & data structures, basic design patterns, event-driven systems, concurrent programming and a lot more of the Software Engineering Body Of Knowledge. He spends 4 years learning and practicing this stuff. You’ve got none of that background, so if you’re getting this stuff then that’s an impressive feat on your part (and a testament to the BNR guides).